Christian? Yes. Religious? No.

This video made it’s way to me from my buddy Justin Brackett this morning.  WOW!  WOW!  WOW!

In my mind, there is a difference between Christianity and Religion and this video from Jefferson Bethke gets at the heart of it.

It’s funny that this video came right after I had read the verse below.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9 NIV

Can you find power in weakness?

3 thoughts on “Christian? Yes. Religious? No.

  1. Patrick, I love the see the fire and passion in videos like this. My experience has shown however that this fire needs a “fireplace” or it can do just as much damage as good.

    I would challenge a few points in this video. First, the “church” was established by the likes of Peter, Paul, James and John those who knew Jesus personally. Secondly most of the works of charity in our country (Matthew 25: 35-46) were started by “Religious” organizations. Our education system and our health care that we have today was because of a church.

    I would like to think that one can have both and they are not diametrically opposed. My experience tells me that is the case. Sometimes people often think that if someone goes to a traditional church on Sunday that they live like the devil the rest of the week.

    So while I agree that there is a difference between being a Christian and going to church (after all standing in your garage doesn’t make one a car), one is not the enemy of the other.

    Just my opinion.

    • Hi Dan, thanks for stopping by!

      I agree with you pretty much on everything you said. I do think you can have both but that has to be the key. To your point, Peter, Paul, James and John had a personal relationship with Jesus. That is still true today and we are invited by Him to have that personal relationship. Once we do, we begin to live out our faith in thoughts, words and actions and the “religion” part comes alive and not just things we do without really thinking about why we do them.

Leave a Reply

