Think Different

This video has been making its way around the interwebs today in honor of Steve Jobs and his resignation at Apple.  There isn’t much to be said about the ad.  As I continue on in my career in digital marketing, I’ll always look for ways to challenge “the way we’ve always done it” and “because our metrics and analytics indicate this.”  It’s not because I don’t find value in what was done before or analytics, but because in this ever changing landscape of technology and digital, sometimes there aren’t past examples and analytics to support something that’s never been tried before.

As I look at my family and especially my children, I’ll challenge them to always think differently so they can be life long discoverers and learners.  “Learn from my mistakes” will still be a valuable teaching tool but allowing them to “fail forward” will just be as valuable especially because they will experience things that Julianne and I never did as kids.

For now, I wish Steve Jobs the best on his new life.  I sincerely hope his health isn’t the driving force behind this move and that now he’ll be able to spend more quality time with his family.  Good luck, Steve!

One thought on “Think Different

Leave a Reply

