The Great Harvest

The one thing that I’ve come to appreciate lately is taking the time in the morning to read my Bible (well the Bible on my iPad) and pray. It’s during these times that I get the inspiration for blog posts plus it’s a great way to start my day. Last week, during this time I came across the following verse from Luke:

“These were his instructions to them: ‘The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.” (Luke 10:2 NLT)

As I read this it made think about the great harvest of the Christian life. I look at the stories many of us have to share of how God has truly impacted our lives. In essence these are our harvest tools and yet many of us don’t use them often enough, thus the workers to share the Gospel “are few.”

My hope and prayer is that all of us that have a passion for something, whether it is sharing our faith or redefining a city (like Detroit) will take to heart that the only way this can happen is if we ourselves USE our tools and go out and harvest so we can have more “workers in his fields.”

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

