Getting To Know…Samantha Collier

Samantha Collier

This week’s “Getting To Know…” features Samantha Collier.  I got to know Samantha through my buddy Justin Brackett.  Samantha is the Business Development Coordinator for the Vancouver branch of MBM Intellectual Property LLP.  She also works on a project with Justin called Develop Socially which is a blog that talks about social media and how it works in real life.  I was fortunate to guest blog for them too!  Everyone, here is Getting to Know…Samantha Collier.

 

Who is the most influential person in your life and why?
My grandmother. She raised me since I was eight and taught me about family dedication and true love.  She grew up during the depression and had to get by with very little, so she encouraged me to start working part time at the local Dairy Queen when I was 15.  This resulted in an insane work ethic and the desire to always want “more”.  She’s 84 years old so now I get to take care of her, and be there for her the way she was for me.

Guilty dessert pleasure?
Hands down, my favorite dessert pleasure is the Molten Lava Cake served up at Cactus Club, a local restaurant in Vancouver.  I dream about this dessert. It truly is “molten lava”.  The outsides is chocolate cake while the inside is hot, sweet, chocolate.  It’s served with vanilla ice cream and raspberry sauce and here’s my little trick: put a bit of each part on a spoon so you get all four flavors together in one bite – to die for!

What is one piece of advice you’d give someone?
Dream big. Don’t ever think you aren’t capable of reaching your dreams. Define what you want to do in life and plan each baby step.  You are capable of anything you set your mind too.  Reevaluate your plan every three months or so to stay on track.  Surround yourself with friends and family that support your goals and ambitions.

Favorite childhood memory?
Dancing in a dance recital to the song Rhythm Nation by Janet Jackson. I’ll never forget standing on stage waiting for those big red velvet curtains to open. The show was televised and we got to wear red lipstick – that was big news to a ten year old! There were five of us and we aced our routine. It was a magical feeling.

4 thoughts on “Getting To Know…Samantha Collier

  1. Nice to meet you Samantha; I could relate to the story about your grandmother and am glad you are able to care for her. Mine passes away but I see her in my kids every day. Again nice to meet you and thanks Patrick!

  2. Nice to meet you Samantha; I could relate to the story about your grandmother and am glad you are able to care for her. Mine passed away but I see her in my kids every day. Again nice to meet you and thanks Patrick!

    • Patrick, I love seeing this post! As you know I love @samtaracollier! The thing that inspires me the most about her is that is that, nothing seems to hold her back. Most people would take whats been given to her and just give up or slow down! Not Samantha Collier!

      Hope one day she and I can meet IRL.

Leave a Reply

