Where Is The Vision?

I saw this verse this past weekend at Kensington Orion and got me thinking about vision and leadership.  This verse in Proverbs is so true.  True in life and true in business.  What is it that you stand for?  What does your brand represent?  For those of you that know me or regularly read this blog, you are well aware of the passion that I have for Kensington Church here in Michigan.  They have a mission that has stood for over 20 years and continues to be relevant today.

To turn people who think God is irrelevant into fully devoted followers of Jesus Christ through high-impact churches.

It’s pretty clear to me and Kensington leadership has made it known to everyone that works and volunteers there.  By making it clear to all, you know what to expect if you invest any amount of time with these awesome people.  They gear their ministry and their weekend services towards those people that think “God is irrelevant” in order to get them to at least think about what it means to have a faith.

What about people?  Can they have a vision?  Absolutely.  There is a verse in 1 Peter that sums up my life and my interactions with people.  It’s the vision that I want to pass along to my kids so that as they enter into adulthood, they will be equipped with a faith that has carried me through my life thus far.

But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.  Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do it with gentleness and respect…

I try as much as possible to reflect this in every aspect of my life…at work, at home, with friends.  I’ll be the first to admit that there are times I don’t do things with gentleness and respect.  Having this vision for my life allows me to be accountable for my actions.

What if there is no vision?  What happens to an organization or individual?  There are consequences with lack of vision.  There is no goal or purpose to the things we do.  Is this something you are willing to risk?  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

