Stop Looking Forward to the Weekend

Every Tuesday, a group of friends get together for our small group.  During this time we do a Bible study, topical studies, or service projects.  We’ve named this time, Tuesday Family.  It’s an awesome time of fellowship and getting to know each other.  I just wanted to provide you with that background before jumping in to what has been on my mind this week.

Currently, we’re going through a study called The Truth Project.  It’s a “heavy” study and one that continues to make my head hurt after we go through it each week.  I’ve included a link to their website if you want to learn more about it.  I couldn’t do it justice by trying to explain it briefly here.

This past Tuesday, we went through the study on “Labor.”  It basically talked about how “work” is viewed today.  Think about it.  What I typically see on my Facebook feed are comments like, “Is it Friday yet?” or “The weekend went by too quickly.”  We all know everyone looks forward to the weekend but what about the work we do during the week?

One thing that Dell Tackett said was, “God has created us to create.”  We can only create when we work.  Work should be enjoyable and not taken for granted.  The best ideas can come from hard work so why do we often not appreciate the jobs we’re given?  I know.  I know.  It’s human nature and I’m just as guilty of not doing what I’m encouraging all of you to do.  However, my hope is that we all will look at our “work” and make sure it’s something we all enjoy doing.  Don’t become lukewarm in your jobs.  If you don’t enjoy it, do something you enjoy.  If you enjoy your work, go into each day with the passion and pride and to create something useful for those around you.

One more thing…all work and no play isn’t fun.  Take a break for a day.  God did when he created the earth!

“For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the LORD blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.”  Exodus 20:11 (NIV)

Have a great weekend everyone!  I’m still sad from the MSU loss to Michigan last night.  Say something in the comments to cheer me up…PLEASE!

6 thoughts on “Stop Looking Forward to the Weekend

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Stop Looking Forward to the Weekend « Rey(es) of Light -- Topsy.com

  2. Great post Patrick! We can’t let the moments of the “workweek” be full of dread or we will miss out on lots that life has to offer. I can honestly say I’m ending this workweek proud of several key accomplishments that I was passionate about doing throughout the week – they were tough to put down!

    I finished a draft of a trend report that I think is pretty cool, added products to my ETSY shop I opened last week and in “down time” made a couple new pieces of jewelry for the shop.

    And, now I’m taking a break for the evening to relax and enjoy some quality time with family and friends.

  3. Pingback: Saturday! | open Mike

Leave a Reply

