A Hopeful Change For The Better

I’m finally on my way home from Las Vegas after being here for 5 days.  That is just way too long to be here.  As excited as I was to go to CES 2011, I’m even more excited to be going home to Julianne and the kids.  I miss my family, my bed and my friends and am looking forward to life resuming to normalcy when I land in Detroit.

But that’s not what I’m writing about as I wait for my plane.  What I’m writing about is a decision that I made right after the new year.  I decided to give up alcohol.  Big deal, right?  Well for me it was.  I thought and prayed about it for a while and ultimately decided this was exactly what I wanted to do especially because I knew I was going to Las Vegas the following week.

You may ask, “Why?”.  Well let me share those reasons with you.  First, I began to not like how I felt the day after.  To that you might say, “Well, don’t drink so much!”  I actually don’t drink that much anymore.  I just started noticing that even after 1 or 2 beers, I still felt miserable the following day.  That started to get my attention and get the thought process rolling.

I think the most important reason was something that I’ve been processing for a while.  As Christians, we are in a daily battle for our soul.  I believe it’s spiritual in nature and attacks you when and where you are weakest.  If you’re not careful or not paying attention, the things we struggle with can rise up and and take over.  I recently read the following verse from 1 Peter 5:8:

“Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.”

This idea of “lion looking for someone to devour” was so true especially here in Las Vegas.  We all know the saying, “what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.”  Well, I didn’t want to have any regrets after my time here and in order for me to be able to do that, I needed to be “of sober mind.”  Mission accomplished and honestly, it wasn’t that difficult to do.  I was still able to have fun without the influence of alcohol.  I was able to get up early and work out in the morning, which I needed to do especially with all the GREAT food I ate this week.

I was overwhelmed at the support I received from my friends and family when I told them what I decided.  Many asked why I decided to do this and that was actually difficult to answer in a short conversation so that drove the inspiration for this post.  Hopefully I answered the question for you.  If not, let me know in the comments below and I can try and dive deeper.

By the way, please send encouragement to my friend Dave Murray who has made a similar decision!  Good luck, Dave!  You know you have my support!

7 thoughts on “A Hopeful Change For The Better

  1. I gave up alcohol when I ran my first marathon and it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I slowly began to reintroduce it, but only wine (after all, one glass is good for you!). Now I refuse to drink more than one glass because of your first reason – the way you feel the next day is just miserable. So good for you! I’m proud of you!!

  2. Great decision. I never really made a conscious decision to
    give up alcohol, but had some health issues and decided to stay
    away from certain things that may cause an intolerance reaction for
    me. I would have an occasional glass of organic sulfite free wine.
    That was 4 or five years ago. I may still have an occasional drink,
    but, I honestly can’t tell you the last time I had one (probably
    been over a year). I know I won’t feel the greatest after even just
    one and I naturally make the decision not to have it. Life is too
    short to consciously make a decision to do something you know will
    make you feel like crap. Good for you!

    • Thanks Rachel. I completely agree with you on your last point. Often I didn’t think of the result of my actions from drinking the night before. I’m all for living in the moment but we still need to be mindful of what can happen as a result of it.

  3. Pingback: My Top 12 of 2011 « Rey(es) of Light

Leave a Reply

