Afternoon Reflection

As the kids started playing Just Dance on the Wii, I suddenly had a moment of inspiration.  This particular post isn’t entirely about reflections on the past year (although that may still surface as the year comes to a close).  Rather, this is about enjoying the moment in front of me.  I could have gone into the office this week but instead chose to enjoy my time off and spend it with my family.  The only reflection currently on my mind has to do with my change in jobs.  The move to MRM wasn’t really that difficult of a decision for me.  Yes, the money was really good but more importantly, I now enjoy the flexibility to spend more quality time with my family.  Gone are the 2+ hours spent in a car driving to the Ren Cen.  Instead, my total commute is 40 minutes round trip and I get to take my kids to school every day.

I can’t tell you how much more I value the time with Julianne and the kids as of late.  So far this week, I’ve colored Cinderella pictures with Jessica, taken Gina and Joshua to a fossil exhibit, and watched Luke color his nose with blue and green markers.  Julianne and I spent last night playing bocce ball with friends that we’ve grown very close with over the past 2 years.  This all has just happened in the course of 5 days and I’ve loved every minute of it.

What completely amazes me is how quickly time can pass you by if you don’t pay attention.  The age of my kids is 7, 6, 4 and 2.  WOW!  It feels just like yesterday that Julianne and I got married when in fact it will be 12 years this August!  So as 2010 comes to a close, all I really wanted to tell all of you is to pay attention.  Pay attention to the little things in life and don’t worry so much about the BIG moments.  If you’ve been watching out for the little victories along the way, you’ll definitely see the BIG ones too.

And by the way, remember the “marker incident” I mentioned above?  I’ll let my 4 year old tell you the story.  She tells it in such an incredible way!  Enjoy and have a fantastic New Year and blessed 2011!

Leave a Reply

