I Hate Funerals

Ok.  So we all hate funerals.  They typically mean we’ve lost someone in our lives that meant something (either big or small) to us.  They had an impact and they had a special place in our hearts.

So this morning I went to one.  This was a long time family friend and I actually hadn’t seen the family for quite some time.  The funny thing is, you usually also see a ton of other people that you haven’t seen in a long time.  For one reason or another, people fall in and out of your lives.  It could be proximity.  It could be an unresolved issue.  Who knows?

Whatever the reason, as I sat in the funeral mass, I began to think.  “What learning moment will I take from this funeral?”  Yes, it might be a little odd but then again, as I’ve gotten older, I always look for the teachable moments, not only for my kids, but for myself too.

  • Funerals should be celebrations of life
  • Appreciate those in your life and don’t take them for granted
  • Make amends whenever possible…holding a grudge is a waste of time, energy and emotion

These are all things that we’ve heard before but I still need to be reminded of them.  Our time on earth is soooo small.  We only have a short time to make a positive lasting impact.  It’s kind of ironic, that a few weeks before, I took this picture at my cousin’s house in Toronto.
Great quote from Abe Lincoln

So as I continue to reflect, my thoughts and prayers go out to Emily (@apronstringsem) and her family.  Your dad was an awesome man.  What I remember the most about him was that he was the first person (outside of my family) I hugged the day my mom died more than 20 years ago.  I grabbed on to him as tightly as you did to me today when we saw each other.  It was the shoulder that I needed to let out all the emotions I experienced that day so I could deal with what was ahead of me.  The verse your brother read today was awesome.  As the verses state, be reassured…there will be a family reunion!

And regarding the question, friends, that has come up about what happens to those already dead and buried, we don’t want you in the dark any longer. First off, you must not carry on over them like people who have nothing to look forward to, as if the grave were the last word. Since Jesus died and broke loose from the grave, God will most certainly bring back to life those who died in Jesus.

And then this: We can tell you with complete confidence—we have the Master’s word on it—that when the Master comes again to get us, those of us who are still alive will not get a jump on the dead and leave them behind. In actual fact, they’ll be ahead of us. The Master himself will give the command. Archangel thunder! God’s trumpet blast! He’ll come down from heaven and the dead in Christ will rise—they’ll go first. Then the rest of us who are still alive at the time will be caught up with them into the clouds to meet the Master. Oh, we’ll be walking on air! And then there will be one huge family reunion with the Master. So reassure one another with these words. (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18 The Message)

4 thoughts on “I Hate Funerals

  1. Pingback: Do Not Stand At My Grave And Weep: over 250 funeral poems and readings | Powerbook G4 Laptop

  2. Pingback: Our Garden Blog » Blog Archive » Ideas To Ponder When Buying Flowers

  3. Pingback: The Whole Nine Yards | Apron Strings for Emily

  4. Pingback: Our Garden Blog » Blog Archive » 1800 Flowers Coupons And Looking For Them

Leave a Reply

