Have we forgotten how to innovate?

Earlier this week I received an e-mail with the following in the subject line: “Take time to read – Especially the 19 facts at the end.  Enlightening or Scary?”.  Normally I quickly realize these are the typical chain e-mails but for some reason, I decided to read it.  The e-mail basically talked about 9 industries that are being changed by technology and 19 facts about the deindustrialization of America that will blow your mind.  After doing a little digging, I found that these articles, either together or separately, have been floating around the internet for a few months now.

At any rate, I realized how happy I was to be in the job that I am in now.  As part of MRM Worldwide‘s Focus Innovation Team, it’s our job to learn about new technologies and how they can improve some of the daily tasks we take for granted.  Rather than complain about how China or other countries are “out-innovating” us or worry about manufacturing jobs being outsourced to other countries, why not embrace what technology can do and the possibilities it can provide?  My point is that America was founded on innovation.  As the landscape has gone global, other countries are discovering how technology can be a part of our lives.  Maybe we just forgot and needed a not so subtle reminder to always look ahead and invent new ways to do things.

Let me leave you with 2 videos I came across last week.  The first is a video I saw from Church Crunch.  It takes a look at newspapers and if they were invented today.

The second video I found on Michael Hyatt’s blog and looks at books and the possibilities that could exist with technology that makes this possible NOW!

In both these examples, the traditional model has been reinvented.  I for one find this completely exciting!  What about you?  Do you fear this new paradigm or are you eager to see it evolve and innovate?  Think about it and let me know your thoughts in the comments below.  Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Have we forgotten how to innovate?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Have we forgotten how to innovate? « Salt and Light -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Is the auto industry innovativing or optimizing? « Salt and Light

Leave a Reply

