Which Way Do I Go?

I’ve been blogging for almost a year now.  In that time, I’ve learned a lot about how I write and what I write and I’m really glad that I started.  So now it’s time for me to re-evaluate this blog and the community that I’ve tried to build here at Salt and Light.  Yes, it’s cliche but I’m at a crossroads.

Recently I’ve toyed with the idea of starting another blog primarily focused on my thoughts and strategies for digital marketing and advertising, the social web and new technology.  Salt and Light would remain as my platform to talk about my faith, my family, leadership and other fun things that inspire me at any given moment.

I have an idea of where I want to go with this.  I just need some folks to confirm it for me or tell me I’m crazy.  The floor (comments below) is yours!  What do you think?

16 thoughts on “Which Way Do I Go?

  1. I like separating the two for numerous reasons. No need to get into them but agree its the right move. I too blog (rarely) and wonder if my embedded slideshows of my sons football glories should be separate from my online marketing ramblings.

    Chris

  2. I think separation is a good idea. You still have the opportunity to cross-promote. You’ve done a wonderful job growing your voice and separation simply allows your audience to make the choice where they wish to focus their time…and in many cases, could be both Salt and Light and your strategy blog they chose to visit.

  3. Jumped on the SMO band wagon six months ago and have found corporate attempts at the process somewhat lacking, so I for one would like to see you on a different platform that would engage those who have had extremely positive results from their work.
    Seems everyone out there can tell you what needs to be done but no one is there to show you how. Good luck, I’m on your side
    Gordy

  4. Hmmm…I’m waffling here. I guess it really depends on what you want to accomplish by blogging. It’s REALLY hard to keep up with two blogs. I mean, really hard. I agree with Chris that the kid’s glories should be separate from your business ramblings. At the same time, the kids are what make you, you. I guess, if it were me, I’d ask myself what I wanted the blog to do. If it’s solely an exercise in writing and keeping up with your friends, then I say keep it as one blog. If it’s because you want to grow your thought leadership in digital marketing and become marketable on a different level, a separate blog is a must.

    • Gini, leave it to you to tap into my brain about what I’m thinking. I want Salt and Light to be for family and friends and want the “business side” of Patrick Reyes to be reflected separately. My career goals are driving this thinking not to mention some of the requests from me to post about digital, social, technology, etc. on other blogs. I just felt this blog has grown into something where people can get to know me on a personal level and having the business speak felt out of place.

      Make sense?

  5. I would stick to one blog and write about whatever is on your mind: your faith in Christ, your family, your hobbies, passions, business insights, whatever. Cultivating a single voice will give your thoughts the biggest platform. Example: http://michaelhyatt.com/

    There are two exceptions, though. It might be best to have two blogs if:
    1. Your second blog’s goal is to become a business or business generation tool. If your goal is to go off on your own in some way—consulting, speaking, writing (book, freelance, whatever). If you might want to sell the blog or sell something from/through the blog, then a separate blog might be the way to go. Otherwise, I would stick to one blog with diverse topics. Example here: http://hivelogic.com/ vs. 5by5.tv . Both are works of the same guy—Dan Benjamin—but have very different goals.

    2. Your second blog is going to be so narrowly focused and specific that it just makes sense to have it’s own space. And, if this is the case, you might have multiple contributors: Example here: http://chrisbrogan.com vs. http://manonthego.com . Again, both were started by Chris Brogan, but Man on the Go is a niche blog with other contributors.

    Either way can work—one blog or two. Just know that if you do two blogs, you’re starting over essentially from an audience standpoint with the second one. And, that the split energy and attention will likely mean that one of your blogs will languish and suffer from neglect. So, unless you just love writing so much and have so many things you want to write about that you just want to post multiple times a day, one blog is probably the best way to go.

  6. Gini very true about keeping up. Also very true that both factions make Patrick or anyone who they truly are. From a strictly business standpoint I say separate them, you never know who will shy away due to any religious content or who will get annoyed with certain family posts. True you probably shouldnt worry about or deal with those people anyways but just the angle that may need to be taken. Whats everyones thoughts on one blog with a more generic title and separate categories?

    Chris

    • Chris – I agree with you, now that I know PR wants to build his thought leadership and personal brand. If it were just musings, I think it can all be in one place. But I agree that, if building a personal brand, family and religion should be left out of the business space.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Which Way Do I Go? « Salt and Light -- Topsy.com

  8. I have just recently discovered your blog and enjoy reading it. I am also intrigued by the business side of social media and feel a separate blog would be better suited to this subject area. Some may disagree but I think keeping on topic for one is the best way. Good luck.

  9. Pingback: Time For A Change « Salt and Light

  10. Pingback: Diversifying without Diluting « davevanz.com

Leave a Reply

