My Invitation To You

I’m sure many of you grew up going to some form of church.  I grew up Roman Catholic and did all things kids growing up Catholic did…baptism, first communion, confirmation, etc.  The thing is, it never really stuck.  I went through my high school, college and early adult years without really developing a connection with my church, let alone my faith.  I think many of us could probably say the same thing, regardless of what organized religion you practiced growing up.  With that, I also think a lot of misconceptions developed about the church and God that many Christians today are hoping to change.

A couple of years ago, I read a book from Gabe Lyons and Dave Kinnaman called unChristian.  This book talks about the image problem that Christianity faces today and how these perceptions can be reversed in a Christlike manner.

Christians are supposed to represent Christ to the world. But according to the latest report card, something has gone terribly wrong. Using descriptions like “hypocritical,” “insensitive,” and “judgmental,” young Americans share an impression of Christians that’s nothing short of . . . unChristian.

Groundbreaking research into the perceptions of sixteen- to twenty-nine-year-olds reveals that Christians have taken several giant steps backward in one of their most important assignments. The surprising details of the study, commissioned by Fermi Project and conducted by The Barna Group, are presented with uncompromising honesty in unChristian.

Find out why these negative perceptions exist, learn how to reverse them in a Christlike manner, and discover practical examples of how Christians can positively contribute to culture.

This book really got me thinking about my own faith, how to share it without cramming it down others’ throats.  It also helped me understand why many people today think so negatively about Christianity and God. It was from this book, that I remembered what my faith was all about…respect for people.  It was also from this book and a talk from Jon Kitna (current Quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys) that I found the Bible verse that reflects my life and my faith today, 1 Peter 3:15.

But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect

With that, I wanted to leave you with a couple of things.  First, is this video that Bryan Willmert shared with me last week from Central Christian Church in Las Vegas.  If you have ever thought church wasn’t for you this video beautifully depicts what faith is all about, relationships and people.

Second, I wanted to invite you to come to church with me this weekend.  Kensington Community Church is starting a brand new series this weekend called “Everything I Needed To Know, I Learned From TV” and this weekend features Glee!  Who would have thought you could find God’s truth in some of the top rated shows today!  If you’re interested, let me know.  I’d love for you to join me so you can see for yourself what church means to me.

New Series from Kensington beginning this weekend!

 

3 thoughts on “My Invitation To You

  1. Pingback: Everyone welcome… even you.

  2. Pingback: Everyone welcome… even you. | MarketingNode.com

Leave a Reply

