What is a REAL man?

I’m assuming by the title of this blog, the songs from Real Men of Genius from Bud Light popped into your head.  I know it did for me but fortunately for all of you that’s not what I was talking about!  In the case of this post, I wanted to share with you a great message from Dave Wilson from Kensington Community Church last week.  Dave’s message was aimed specifically at the men of Kensington and how they can be a REAL man based in the truths of the Bible.

In typical Dave fashion, he used a mnemonic device (whoa! I used a big word) to help us remember the point of his message.  It worked because below you’ll find what each letter in REAL stands for.

R – Reject Passivity

E – Engage with God

A – Accept Responsibility

L – Lead Courageously

What struck me the most was rejecting passivity.  I know there have been times where I know that I should get up off the couch after a day of work and play with the kids but I didn’t.  I let my passivity keep me on the couch and miss a golden opportunity to interact with my children.  This has broader implications than just the family.  Think about our health or work.  Think about your relationships.  Think about your faith in God.  In all cases, passivity can lead to apathy.  You get what you put into things and for me, being passive is not an option.

There were so many other lessons to take away from that message and I don’t want to just go through them here.  I invite you to listen to Dave Wilson himself by checking out Kensington’s podcast HERE.  After you get to the podcast page, look for “R.E.A.L. – Rochester Hills”.  It is time well spent!

The last thing I want to do is encourage all of you to be leaders of your home and children.  Be an active participant in the lives of your kids.  Play with them and spend quality time with them.  If you don’t, someone or something else will and it might not be a good thing.  The influence we have on our kids is amazing.  Use it.

“Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong.” (1 Corinithians 16:13)


One thought on “What is a REAL man?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention What is a REAL man? « Salt and Light -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

