Get Glue…evolving the “check in”?

Location based services have been the talk of the tech community over the last year.  Foursquare, Gowalla and now Facebook Places are being adopted and used more as people get into the game.  People share their location in their Facebook profile or their Twitter stream and it’s provided another avenue for people to connect and make comments.

What I think is yet to be solved is how marketers can leverage these services to get their brands in front of people who might share some information with their networks.  This answer might be coming soon now that Get Glue has jumped into the “check in” scene.  At a high level, Get Glue allows users to “check in” to their leisure activities:

  • Watching a TV Show
  • Listening to Music
  • Reading a Book
  • Watching a Movie
  • Playing a Video Game
  • Thinking about a Topic
  • Chatting about a Celebrity
  • Drinking Wine

Now where I think brands can play is in any of the “paid media” activities like TV, Music, Movies, Games or Music.  Imagine a brand, Chevrolet for example, developing a promotion that encourages viewers to check in to the show, Glee, and watch it in it’s entirety INCLUDING the commercials for its brand?  I think there is still undiscovered opportunity here that might allow brands to get something for the millions in media dollars they spend each year.

When I watched the Super Bowl last year, I paid close attention to my Twitter stream when the commercials aired.  It was amazing to see the other game that was going on…rating the commercials.  Could Get Glue be a tool that advertisers could leverage as they continue to look for new ways get in front of consumers?  I guess we’ll find out when the first advertiser gives it a shot.

What do you think?  Would you use it?

For a great blog post about Get Glue, CLICK HERE to read Richard MacManus’ (from Read Write Web) interview with Get Glue founder, Alex Iskold.

3 thoughts on “Get Glue…evolving the “check in”?

  1. I will have to check that out, hadnt heard of it yet. When will a Twitter stream be embedded into a live TV event? It has been tried with taped stuff but something like you mention with a live event could be huge. With Yelp allowing for check ins now as well the check in game will start evolving even more.

    Chris Theisen

  2. Ciao, Dear Author!
    I’m Sophie from France and I am Psychologist.
    You wrote a superb one, I am added it to my Browser rss feed reader.
    Part of your information interesting for my web-site guests.
    I want post your info to my forum.
    Can i to do that, if I place a backlink to your good site ?
    I found your superb one via twitter ..
    Looks like your excellent personal blog have seven hundreds members at your great weblog now, exclusive result for every journalist.

Leave a Reply

