Growth without change? Not likely.

Photo credit: JabezPosters.com

It’s hard to believe it’s been 4 weeks since I made the decision to leave GM and come to MRM Worldwide.  Time flies when you’re having fun!  I can honestly say I’ve learned a ton in my time here so far and I know that more is yet to be learned.  I know I wouldn’t have come to this realization unless I made the move.  I think most would agree that a certain level of comfort sets in when you’ve been somewhere for a long time.  Being at GM for 13 years provided me with that sense of comfort, but was I growing professionally or personally?  No.  I knew how things ran inside the Renaissance Center.  I knew what my expectations were of the people I reported to.  I just didn’t feel a sense of excitement about the day that was ahead of me.  Kind of like that image of the hamster on the wheel.

Enter MRM Worldwide.  Much of the work I do now focuses on finding new and innovative ways to get consumers to interact with the GM brands (I still find this part of it amusing…GM is my client!).  Consumers don’t know what they don’t know!  That part of my job is really cool.  The other interesting part of my job centers on this new “agency” culture I spend my days in.  I need to learn how things run in this building.  There were a couple of other examples this week where I felt I needed to work on presenting to clients as well as my interactions with suppliers supporting our business needs.  These are things I never would have thought about before.  I didn’t know what I didn’t know!

We’ve all heard that life doesn’t stand still.  Well, neither should we.  It hit me last night before I went to bed…life without change does not encourage growth.

I’m not saying to look for change through a job.  I am merely suggesting to always look for ways to challenge yourself and try things you never thought you could do.  You’d be surprised at what you can accomplish and what you can learn.

4 thoughts on “Growth without change? Not likely.

  1. Congrats on the new job!!!

    Change is scary but it is the only way to grow and to learn. Which is important both professionally and personally.

    It is great to learn and to stumble because it is then that you know what you need to work on and who is there for you.

  2. Pingback: Two Lessons in Art « Salt and Light

Leave a Reply

