A Final Look Back

I feel like it’s been forever since I last posted something.  I guess that’s because there has been a little bit of change going on from a career standpoint.  In the course of 2 weeks, I’ve gone from a 13 year career at General Motors to working on the agency side at MRM Worldwide.  I couldn’t be happier.  That’s not to say the decision to leave GM was an easy one.  Let’s face it, 13 years is a long time to spend with a company, especially in the context of today’s world.  There were A TON of things I would have never experienced if it were not for GM.  There were A TON of things I learned if it were not for GM.  For that, I’ll be forever grateful.

Let’s take a final look back…

Saturn (1996 – 1999)

My time at Saturn showed me what a car company and culture could be like.  This was all about teamwork and respect.  I was also first introduced to Stephen Covey and his 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.  This was 1996.  If you read them now, they are absolutely still relevant.

  • Habit 1: Be Proactive
  • Habit 2: Begin with the End in Mind
  • Habit 3: Put First Things First
  • Habit 4: Think Win/Win
  • Habit 5: Seek First to Understand, then to be Understood
  • Habit 6: Synergize
  • Habit 7: Sharpen the Saw

This formed the basis for how I’ve shaped my career and interactions with people.

General Motors – Buick – GMC (2000 – 2010)

A lot happened in this decade.  I learned how to analyze data and form insights.  I went to 3 NCAA Final Fours (Indianapolis, St. Louis, and Atlanta) and Michigan State played in 2 of them.  I learned that automotive retail never takes time off and works hard.  Attention to detail should not be taken lightly.  Get your facts straight because it can only help you in getting a decision made in your favor.  This is where I learned to love digital, technology and social media.  I learned to stay positive and encouraging during times never seen before (GM bankruptcy).  Most importantly, I learned patience and humility.

To my former colleagues and friends at General Motors that helped shape me, I want to say THANK YOU.  That was the hardest part of the decision process for me to leave after 13 years…the people.

So now it’s time to look ahead.  I’m looking forward to what this next chapter in my career provides me.  I know I’m going to learn a lot.  Technology and the web continuously changes our view of things that have been so traditional.  My eyes and mind have already been opened just 4 days into the job.  The one thing that hasn’t changed are the (new) people that will help me grow and develop professionally.

Yes it is cliche, but change is good.  At some point, we are all presented with an opportunity that you just can’t say “no” to and this was mine.  Now it’s time to focus on what’s ahead.

What about you?  What was that one memorable moment in your life when you knew it was time to make a change?

11 thoughts on “A Final Look Back

  1. Pingback: remanufacturare cartus

  2. Pingback: Afternoon Reflection « Salt and Light

Leave a Reply

