Beautiful Unknown

I was going through my e-mail and came across a note from Kelly Rohner.  She has become a good friend and someone that I enjoy talking to every Sunday!  She runs the Early Childhood Room (3 – 5 year olds) at Kensington Community Church.  This is where 2 of my kids spend an hour each Sunday learning about God, the stories in the Bible and most importantly discovering their faith.  It’s an amazing environment that a lot of the Kensington kids get to experience and she does a fantastic job with it.

Kelly’s note was about a mission trip to Kenya that she’ll be going on later this summer.  She and a group of people from Kensington are heading to an orphanage in Kenya to do 2 things:

  1. Plant a community garden so the people in the community can grow their own crops and have a food supply available to them
  2. Install a solar powered irrigation system that will keep the garden watered even during periods of draught

More importantly, I wanted to share with you WHY she is going to Kenya on this trip.  With her permission, here is what she sent in her e-mail:

Now, why am I doing this? There are a lot of reasons, but I’ll share a couple of the big ones with you.  Over the past few years, I’ve really come to realize that life is about a whole lot more than just this little bubble that I live in.  Here I am in Rochester Hills, watching my flat screen TV, and complaining because my car doesn’t have air conditioning, when there are people out there who don’t even have access to enough water to keep them alive.  I’m ready to get out of my comfort zone and use the resources and gifts that I have been given to help some people who could really use it. But probably the biggest reason for going is that I really believe that God is calling me to go on this specific trip. I have a feeling that He is going to use this trip to do a lot more than any of us realize right now.

This really hit home for me as I read this.  I was reminded of the feelings I had at April’s Future Midwest Conference and Jay Adelson’s key note where he talked about taking steps outside our boundaries and “getting a little crazy”.  This is what Kelly is doing.

So this is where you can help.  Each person going on the trip needs to raise $3800.  This money covers everything from travel costs, to supplies for the garden, and some fun things for the kids.  Any amount that you are able to give is HUGELY appreciated. The easiest way to give is by CLICKING HERE, which allows you to donate electronically. Just don’t forget to select her name from the drop down menu. Your gift is 100% tax deductible, and you will receive a statement from Kensington.  If you’re able to make a contribution, please do so by July 11.

The final thing I wanted to leave you with is the following video.  This was shown at the Easter services at Kensington and hits at the heart of what Kelly mentioned above…where she wants to get out of her comfort zone and use her gifts and talents for others.  It’s 14 minutes long but worth the time.  The song, Beautiful Unknown, is from Danny Cox, Music Director at Kensington (super talented musician by the way).

Stepping out of our comfort zone is a step into the beautiful unknown.  Are you ready to take that step?

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Unknown

  1. Part of taking that leap really starts with acceptance of discomfort. The example really is like my son, who is nine, who tries to jump into a pool and just can’t do it because he’s afraid of the cold. I remember being like him. Why do we change, and eventually we can jump? It’s not that we don’t remember that initial shock of cold water… We never forget that. It’s because we know what’s beyond it is going to be o.k.

    It’s easy for me to say, I’ve jumped in the water a few times. My job, with my son, is to tell him it will be o.k. Eventually he’ll figure it out.

    I know it’s scary, people… It’s ok to jump though, I promise you it’s actually less shocking then jumping into cold water.

Leave a Reply

