Have you seen this person?

I’ve been looking for someone that I haven’t seen lately.  Have you seen this person?

  • Humble
  • Encouraging
  • Affirming
  • Teaching

He’s around but hasn’t surfaced recently and I need to find him.  Confused?  Let me elaborate.

This post is about self reflection and learning.  The 4 things I listed above were inspired by 1 Thessalonians 2 and 3.  I read those chapters yesterday and they really got my attention.  They reminded me of things I used to do more consistently and as of late, I’ve been selective with them.  As I look back on a lot of the things I’ve experienced over the last 18 months, they got me through some tough times…corporate bankruptcy, job uncertainty…just to name 2 big ones.

After I read those passages, I decided I needed to get back to basics.  What am I doing to provide value to others?  Isn’t that the premise of the social web?  Build community.  Educate.  Encourage others.  Don’t great leaders do that?  These are the things that make people feel good and energized and I forgot that is what I enjoy doing.

A good friend gave me an idea that I’m going to try.  He’s a teacher and every day he puts some inspiring quote on his white board for his students to read.  It’s different in a positive way and his students have recognized it.  My hope is to begin each day with something inspiring or encouraging to say and share it with you on Facebook and Twitter.  This is by no means a new idea but it is an effective one.  My goal in all of this goes back to the verses that originally inspired this blog’s title…Salt and Light (Matthew 5:13-16)

“Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage.

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.

Back to basics, everyone.  Go with what got you here.  Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

