Thank You

This past Sunday, Kensington Community Church spent the entire weekend thanking their hundreds of volunteers for the service they provide in making the weekend services a great experience for those visiting and who regularly attend.  The video below captures the heart of the message, but more importantly shows the talent and creativity of this place that I call my church home.

After I had some time to soak on what I just experienced, I started to think about the words “thank you” and how impactful they can be.  How often do we go through life appreciating the efforts of our friends, family and co-workers?  Personally, I know I don’t do it enough.  For some reason, it’s easier to point out faults or things that aren’t correct than it is to thank someone for a simple favor.  Why is that?  I know how I feel after someone thanks me for something I’ve done or said.  Happy.  Affirmed.  Encouraged.

My challenge to all of you this week is say, “thank you” to someone.  Try to be aware of the moments in your day when someone does something nice for you and make the effort to appreciate it and them.

On a side note, I started reading 1 Thessalonians this morning and these were the verses that gave me the additional inspiration for this post.  Very timely and profound if you ask me.

We always thank God for all of you, mentioning you in our prayers.  We continually remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ. (1  Thessalonians 1:2-3)

The final thought I’ll leave you with is this.  There are 2 other words in the English language that have the same profound effect as “thank you”.  I’m sure you know where I’m going with this.  We just witnessed what the words “I’m sorry” can do during a bad PR moment.  Jim Joyce realized he blew the call on Armando Galarraga’s perfect game last week.  No need to re-hash it but what I will say is that BP could learn a lot from him.

Have a great week and thank you for taking the time to read!

One thought on “Thank You

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Thank You « Salt and Light -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

