Don’t Forget to Celebrate!

On Sunday, we celebrated the 7th birthday of my oldest daughter, but we made it bigger than just Sunday.  Credit to Julianne in making this more than just a one day event.  It was a joy to see Gina’s face as she opened gifts throughout the weekend.  It started with her soccer game on Saturday to the gifts she opened on Sunday.  Highlight of yesterday was when she found out there was a trampoline in the back of my car (I use “highlight” only in relation to her…I had to put the thing together)!  The birthday culminates this Friday as 10-12 first graders will be at our house for a sleep over…I wonder if Julianne will notice if I leave?????

Birthdays are celebrations of individuals and it was a proud moment for me as a dad to see the smile that was brought to my daughter’s face when people showed their love and care for her.

Once the craziness subsided, I reflected a little bit on this.  Do we take the time to celebrate the big and small victories in life?  Sometimes I think we run so fast and only focus on the “emergency of the moment” that we forget what really needs our focus are the good things in life.  More than anything, we need to celebrate people.  I believe people have the innate need for reinforcement and encouragement.  As a parent, I witness this first hand with my 4 kids.  When they get positive reinforcement from me, I can see their eyes light up and see their confidence grow.

How do you bring this to business?  Employees and customers all need to feel a level of acceptance.  Relationships need to be built and cultivated.  For me, it always will be about people more than a product.

Your turn…what do you think?  Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Forget to Celebrate!

  1. I would have to say that the answer to your question is that we, as individuals and as corporate entities do not tend to celebrate enough! However, you are dead on-we need to remember, and to share, those things that are worth celebrating. If anything, it helps to build a sense of community and that tends to build loyalty, which never hurts if a company is trying to engage its employees, or to keep its customers!

    • Thanks Dave! This really hit home as we celebrated throughout the weekend her birthday.

      From a business perspective, often times we don’t celebrate the small wins because we’re moving so fast. I understand too much celebration can lead to complacency but from time to time, it’s nice to recognize hard work and effort.

Leave a Reply

