I’m done with “Social Media”

I’m done with social media.  There, I said it.  OK, let me clarify.  I’m done with using the term “social media.”

This is something that’s been on my mind since I read a blog post from Umair Haque in the Harvard Business Review website last week (thanks Brandon Chesnutt).  In his post, Umair says, “Organizations don’t need ‘social media’ strategies.  They need social strategies: strategies that turn antisocial behavior on its head to maximize meaning.   The right end of social tools is to help organizations stop being antisocial.”

Here is my thinking…when I think about the word “media”, my mind automatically thinks about one way communication.  That goes against everything I believe “social networking” to be…relationships and NOT a bull horn.  I think about “paid media” not “earned media” which is what the social networking tools provide you.  When you use them to build relationships and focus on what the customer wants, people will talk about you positively.

I’m not sure if “social networking” is the term I’ll use yet.  I’m definitely interested in your thoughts.  What do you think?

3 thoughts on “I’m done with “Social Media”

  1. Pingback: Is social media strategy really so different? « Murmurs About Town

Leave a Reply

