What difference are you going to make?

How was your Easter?  Mine was in a word…awesome!  I heard a great message from Dave Wilson of Kensington Community Church on Saturday that once again got my head spinning with ideas and motivation!  The message that day focused on how are you going to live your life?  In true Kensington fashion, they used a great visual analogy to get their point across.

Many people go through life being comfortable.  They are risk averse and like to live within the confines of their “normal life.”  It would be like riding my 6 year olds bike…training wheels and tassels included.  People generally feel good about what they’ve accomplished, where they live and what they own.  Not too flashy.  It is safe.  Personally speaking, I’ve lived most of my life in this way and up until recently have felt something was missing.  Yes, things were good.  I have a great wife and wonderful children, but something or Someone just kept tapping me on the shoulder saying, “There is more!”

When you think of Harley Davidson, what comes to mind?  Power.  Excitement.  Passion.  That’s the message Kensington got through to me.  It was in the context of what I talked about in my post about Good Friday.  Through the story of Good Friday and Easter, we are given a second chance at life to really make a difference in the world that goes beyond our immediate circle of influence.  In order to do this, you sometimes have to take some risks.  It’s not going to be comfortable.  You may fail.  It’ll stretch your boundaries and take you out of your comfort zone, but if you are successful imagine the sense of accomplishment you’ll have!

Larry Page, Google’s co-founder once said, “I want to run a company where we are moving too quickly and trying too much. If we don’t make any mistakes, we’re not taking enough risk.”  Imagine that and now look what Google has become.  (Thanks to Gini Dietrich once again for the quote!)

The point of all this is to encourage you to find what you are passionate about and do it.  Make it a part of your life!  I know, it’s risky, but this isn’t a new way of thinking.  Ask any entrepreneur that’s ventured off and done their own thing.  The ones that I know are probably the most satisfied professionally and wouldn’t think twice if they could do it over again.

As for me, this mission to find a purpose and make a difference started when I read Wide Awake by Erwin McManus over a year ago.  Of the MANY quotes I wrote down in my journal, this one struck a cord, “You cannot begin to live the dream God has for you until you stop caring about only yourself.”  People matter to me and I look at every human interaction as an opportunity to leave an imprint.  My eyes are wide open for continued opportunities to make a difference.

If we are going to live the life of our dreams, it’s going to take courage, willingness to risk, to attempt, to fail, to get back up. ~ Erwin McManus, Wide Awake

4 thoughts on “What difference are you going to make?

  1. wow… such a wonderful post…
    outstanding balance of lines and words….
    Learnt a lot from you….

    visit mine… & plz plz plz post your comments….

    Thank you…

    I’ll be in touch…

  2. Two things:

    1. When the recession hit, I didn’t know whether or not the company was going to make it and I really began to doubt myself as a leader, I read a quote from Confucius and posted it to my wall, “Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in getting up every time we do.” You’re right…if we don’t take chance or risk, and have the possibility of failure, we never learn.

    2. I was riding my bike yesterday morning (whenever my mom asks if I went to church, I say, “Yes. The church of Trek.”), tracking along at 24 mph, and thinking about how much stronger I am at the beginning of this season that I was at the end of last year’s season. I settled back into the saddle and puffed up my chest, when two guys went FLYING by me as if I were out for a leisurely ride. So it doesn’t matter what your comfort box is, as soon as you start to feel comfortable, it’s time to add in some change and risk to take you to the next level.

    Great post!

    P.S. You’re welcome for the quote. 🙂

  3. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

