P90X…my continued test in perseverance

Many of you know that I’ve spent the last 2 months going through the P90X workout from Tony Horton.  This is my second time through this workout and I can honestly say it’s the hardest workout I’ve ever done.  The first time through it, I lost 15 lbs. and felt great.  Unfortunately, I didn’t finish the last month and probably could have seen even better results!

I sit here through 45 days of my second time through and I’m finding the same excuses as I did the first time starting to creep up.  I’ve lost 13 lbs. this time, I feel stronger and I can see results.  My challenge of late has been the motivation to get up at 3:30am to do my workouts!  Yes…I know getting up that early is crazy to some of you but given the schedule I have for work and the desire to spend evenings with my kids and wife instead of working out, I sacrifice some sleep and early mornings for my health and fitness.

This 90 day work out is a test of perseverance.  Am I able to continue with this schedule and achieve the results I set out for myself when I began?  If you ask me what my goals are now in the final 45 days, I’d tell you is to lose another 12 lbs., get stronger and more definition.  This is where all of you can come in and support me.  Would you be willing to support me by holding me accountable by making sure I’m following through with this?

For those of you that are still wondering what this workout is all about, see the video below from the P90X YouTube Channel.  There are a ton of other videos and testimonials that will make you believe this work out is for real AND effective.

13 thoughts on “P90X…my continued test in perseverance

  1. Way to go! Keep it up. Its hard to stay motivated but with your previous results you know it works and you know how good it feels. You can do it!! I have finished 2 rounds myself and have Injured my knee so it has been killing me to lay low and not workout every day.

  2. Where are your before and after photos huh?!

    That’s fantastic work. You mention your kids as being your driving force to get up that early, you should use them as further motivation to keep going. Bet they’d want nothing more than an even fitter and healthier father.

    Keep up the hard work you’ve already put into it.

  3. I can relate 1000000%. At the begging of the year, I started a new program as well. Going to the gym, working out, conscious eating and limiting the unhealthy things in life.

    Great plan but poorley executed. I am reinitiating the program again. Starting March 3rd.

    Keep it up… Take progress pics and share so we can give continued support.

  4. Do you follow the diet/nutrition plan, too or just do the workout? I’ve been watching your results and thinking about trying this myself. But I don’t want to change my eating habits too radically.

    Congrats on what you’ve already done. By May 1, imagine how you’ll look if you keep going!

    • Thanks Brian! I’ve just been doing the workout. With 4 kids, it makes it a little difficult for me to ask my wife to make me a separate meal! I’ve just been watching what I eat…no pop, not as much candy, etc.

  5. Pingback: Do you lead and are you lead? « Salt and Light

  6. Pingback: Do you lead and are you led? « Salt and Light

Leave a Reply

