Encouragement

The more I write and post to my blog, more topics tend to come to mind that I want to share my thoughts on.  One thing that has been on my mind a lot recently is the idea of encouragement.  How often do we take time to encourage others?  Do we remember to point out what they are doing right?  This has idea has taken on more significance for me, particularly as a father to 4 wonderful children.  I want them to know how special and loved they are.  Don’t get me wrong, I also need to discipline and correct negative behaviors and actions.  The point is, I really believe that for every disciplinary action, there needs to be two positive reinforcements.

I recently took StrengthsFinder 2.0.  It’s an online assessment of your strengths.  It helps identify what those strengths are and provides a roadmap for you to develop them.  Below are my results and brief description:

POSITIVITY: People who are especially talented in the Positivity them have an enthusiasm that is contagious.  They are upbeat and can get others excited about what they are going to do.

BELIEF: People who are especially talented in the Belief them have certain core values that are unchanging.  Out of these values emerges a defined purpose for their life.

STRATEGIC: People who are especially talented in the Strategic theme create alternative ways to proceed.  Faced with any given scenario they can quickly spot the relevant patterns and issues.

DEVELOPER: People who are especially talented in the Developer theme recognize and cultivate the potential in others.  They spot the signs of each small improvement and derive satisfaction from these improvements.

ADAPTABILITY: People who are especially talented in the Adaptability theme prefer to “go with the flow.”  They tend to be “now” people who take things as they come and discover the future one day at a time.

What I was told by the facilitator was that I am the “glue” that holds people together.  Relationships matter to me.  People matter to me.  I was in complete agreement with him.

People are very important to families, organizations, businesses, etc.  How do you treat them?  Do you develop the people in your family?  In your business?  Do you “cultivate the potential in others”?  My Beliefs play a critical role in my thinking.  If you’ve been a regular reader of this blog, you know how important my faith is to me.  It is this faith that has allowed me to find comfort in really challenging times and through that I believe that it’s important to look at people for who they are…people.  We often get so caught up “goals” and “numbers” and see people as tools to accomplish those goals or reach those numbers.  The human element is taken out of it.

As leaders (we all are in some way), take the time to celebrate the accomplishments of those you lead.  It’s amazing the environment that it fosters and the success it can lead to.

For God has not destined us for wrath, but to obtain salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ, who died for us so that whether we are awake or asleep we might live with him. Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.  (1 Thessalonians 5:9-11)

Leave a Reply

