My Favorites

I started using Twitter back in March of 2009.  It was first out of curiosity and quickly turned into a “must use” as I discovered I wanted to use “social media” for more than just personal use.  In the last 9 months, I’ve begun to study how other people and companies use Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, etc. for their businesses.  I’m continually amazed at how effective integrating social media with some of the traditional advertising approaches can lead to successful campaigns.

I think it’s safe to say that I’ve gone from casual observer to social media student and enthusiast…my wife would argue that I’m obsessed with it.  She may just be right!

In this time I’ve read many articles and blogs, studied statistics and looked at the examples of how social media has been used to generate awareness, change perceptions as well as be integrated in all marketing and advertising efforts.  The examples are endless.  The purpose of today’s post is to share those with you.  I hope you find them as helpful and informative as I did!

Socialnomics: This video by Erik Qualman got me started on my social media hobby.

IKEA / Facebook: How IKEA used Facebook to help in opening up one of it’s newest stores.

From Mashable…4 Ways Social Media is Changing Business

From Mashable…5 Ways Social Media is Changing Our Lives

From Mashable…5 Ways to Make Your Business More Transparent

From eMarketer…Deep Brand Engagement Creates Customers

From PR Squared…The Awareness Scale: How Social Media, PR & Advertising Now Work Together

From eMarketer…Using Social Media Strategically

From Gini Dietrich / Arment Dietrich…Social Media Philosophy

The last thing I’ll leave you with is a print ad from Trident in a recent USA Today:


3 thoughts on “My Favorites

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention My Favorites « Salt and Light -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

