The Words That I Would Say – Sidewalk Prophets

From time to time, I’ll hear a song on the radio (XM) that will resonate with me.  This morning, I heard the following song from Sidewalk Prophets.  I decided to look them up on their website and in their “About” section, they say that they “integrate worship with real life…one of the simple truths they have learned to live by.”


This has been my “mission” over the last year.  How can I live out my faith in all areas of my life and not just on Sunday and Wednesday when I go to church.

As I was driving to work this morning, I envisioned God sitting next to me in the car saying these words to me.  It was a great way to prepare me for Thanksgiving and the Christmas season.  I hope it does the same for you.

Have a great Thanksgiving!


Three in the morning,


And I’m still awake,
So I picked up a pen and a page,
And I started writing,
Just what I’d say,
If we were face to face,
I’d tell you just what you mean to me,
I’d tell you these simple truths,

Be strong in the Lord and,
Never give up hope,
You’re going to do great things,
I already know,
God’s got His hand on you so,
Don’t live life in fear,
Forgive and forget,
But don’t forget why you’re here,
Take your time and pray,
These are the words I would say,

Last time we spoke,
You said you were hurting,
And I felt your pain in my heart,
I want to tell you,
That I keep on praying,
Love will find you where you are,
I know cause I’ve already been there,
So please hear these simple truths,

Be strong in the Lord and,
Never give up hope,
You’re going to do great things,
I already know,
God’s got His hand on you so,
Don’t live life in fear,
Forgive and forget,
But don’t forget why you’re here,
Take your time and pray,
These are the words I would say,

From one simple life to another,
I will say,
Come find peace in the Father,

Be strong in the Lord and,
Never give up hope,
You’re going to do great things,
I already know,
God’s got His hand on you so,
Don’t live life in fear,
Forgive and forget,
But don’t forget why you’re here,
Take your time and pray,
Thank God for each day,
His love will find a way,
These are the words I would say 

2 thoughts on “The Words That I Would Say – Sidewalk Prophets

  1. Great post! The image of God sitting next to me on the way to work, sitting next to me always is powerful stuff. I know He is there…but that image – wow!

  2. This is one of my favorite songs and one that hits me more than others. Music is an amazing way to hear God’s message for us. I find it helpful all the time!

Leave a Reply

