Humility

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.  Philippians 2:3-4



My family and friends have known that the word “humility” has been on my mind a lot.  The last year has been a big test in humility and I think that remembering to be humble has kept me grounded.


I saw these verses on a post it note my wife had and decided to put them up on the mirror in the bathroom so I could see them each morning as I get ready for my day.  Why do I need the constant reminder?  For me, I need them to remind myself that being humble and willing to serve others shines the light that much of this blog is all about.


I’ve tried (often unsuccessfully that’s why I need the reminder on the mirror) to be mindful of this in all aspects of my life…work, home, friends, etc.  This idea sometimes gets lost in this “me first” world but what I’ve found is that when we think of “the interests of others” before our own, relationships are built and trust is developed.


Big game for the MSU Spartans this weekend against Iowa…GO GREEN!



Leave a Reply

