Fishing, Golf, Football, Fishing, and Football

Below is an e-mail that I sent to my friends and family on September 16, 2007.  My church, Kensington Community Church is currently doing a series on “Defining Moments”.  This was mine.  In a previous post, I mentioned 5 passions in my life.  This is my first…my Christianity.  This may not be for everyone and may even turn some people off.  It’s a risk I’m willing to take in the hopes that some of you may just ask me about it.  I’m hopeful you’ll enjoy the read!


It’s Sunday night at 10pm and I was thinking about this past weekend and how I can’t believe I’ve done all of this…golf on Friday, Michigan State football on Saturday, and watching our beloved Detroit Lions at Ford Field pull out a win in overtime against the Minnesota Vikings.  Pretty unbelievable if you ask me.  Kind of makes most of us wonder, why did Julianne allow such a thing!!!!  Well, I took Gina and Joshua with me on Saturday and I brought Julianne, Gina, and Joshua on Sunday.  It wasn’t all about me.  I thought I’d share my good fortunes with the people that matter the most to me! 


At any rate, that explains the golf, football, and football.  What is the “fishing” part?  Well, many of you have known me for years and what I’m about to tell you may surprise you…maybe even shock you.  Either way, it is something our friends and family would expect Julianne to do.  So here it goes…Jesus Christ has really been working in my life over the past year and even more strongly over the last week. 


So now that I have your attention, many of you may stop reading and delete this e-mail or read on out of interest in what I’m about to say. 


It really started last Sunday (9/9) at our 10:30 service at Kensington Community Church.  Steve Andrews (Pastor at our church) was speaking.  At the end of the service, he read a letter from a mother to her son and it basically was a thank you note from the mother.  She thanked her son for bringing her to Christ.  Right at that moment, I got really emotional to the point of tears and all I could think was, “it’s time, it’s time, it’s time.”  It was time for me to surrender my life to Jesus Christ because I realized that I couldn’t do this thing called “life” alone.  I needed someone to help guide me through it.  Pastor Andrews said that church was meant to be done together in groups that shared a common truth.  At the center of that is Jesus Christ. 


Let’s fast forward to this morning (9/16).  Dave Wilson (another Pastor at our church and chaplain of the Lions) was speaking.  He was closing out this current series, Gone Fishin’, which is all about sharing God’s love with people who don’t know Jesus Christ.  He taught a passage from II Kings.  The main message of the story (my interpretation anyway) was that Christians have discovered a great treasure in Jesus and we have a “great responsibility” to share that treasure with others.  Which brings me to the point of this e-mail to all of you this evening. 


I really want all you to know that something is happening in my life.  I can feel Jesus Christ transforming my life.  What I don’t want is for all of you to think I’m going to completely change who I am and who you all have come to know me to be.  I think that would be a bit hypocritical.  What I do want you to know is that I’ve been more at peace this last week than I have in a REALLY long time.  I’ve had to deal with some real lows recently and up until September 9th, I didn’t know how to deal with it.  Now I have at least a starting point. 


As I mentioned earlier, none of you would have expected an e-mail like this to come from me.  Probably from Julianne, but certainly not from me.  Maybe that’s what it took to get you to read on and I hope you did. 


So now what.  To be perfectly honest, I have absolutely no idea.  What do I expect out of those of you that have actually taken the time to read this?  Nothing really.  I just felt as my friends and family, that I share with you what is going on in my life and at least give you something to think about…and I hope you do. 


What I would ask is that if you don’t have a church home, check out Kensington (www.kensingtonchurch.org).  They have locations in Troy, Rochester Hills, Clinton Township, and in Birmingham.  If this church can have this impact on my life, who knows what it could do for you… 


Hope you take the “bait”.  Take care all. 


PR 

2 thoughts on “Fishing, Golf, Football, Fishing, and Football

  1. Pingback: Clean Slate « Salt and Light

  2. Pingback: The New Has Come… « Rey(es) of Light

Leave a Reply

