Riding a bike

Yesterday, I was teaching my 2 older kids how to ride their bikes.  My son, Joshua (4.5) amazingly picked it up right away!  I literally took off his training wheels and we started the first ride and what do you know, I let go and he took off!  Totally amazed me.


Now my daughter Gina (6) took a little longer.  She hasn’t quite gotten it yet and I could tell she was getting frustrated.  However, I did sense the determination in her that she really wanted to learn to ride her 2 wheeler!  I’ll continue to work with her until she does.


I think the biggest reward for me was the enjoyment the kids got with spending time with “daddy”.  Not only did we ride bikes, but I took 3 out of the 4 kids to dinner.  We had a blast.  These are the moments that I will cherish forever.


It made me realize (and with a little help from the wife) that my priorities have been a little backwards lately.  Dishes can wait, laundry can wait, and I don’t always need to have a blackberry in my hand.  These precious moments are just that…precious and I need to treat them that way because I’ll never get them back again.

Leave a Reply

